Go to navigation Go to main content

You are here:

The DCAW Organisation

The DCAW is managed by a steering group consisting of representatives from the different partners. The steering group makes overall decisions on the direction of the activities of DCAW and on the projects to be initiated by DCAW each year.

The steering group consists of:

  • Per Henriksen, Chief Veterinary Officer, Danish Veterinary and Food Administration (DVFA) - head of steering group
  • Charlotte Vilstrup, Head of Division, DVFA
  • Hans Henrik Dietz, Head of the Department of Large
    Animal Sciences, University of Copenhagen
  • Klaus Lønne Ingvartsen, Head of the Department of
    Animal Science, Aarhus University
  • Paolo Drostby, Head of Division, Ministry of
    Food, Agriculture and Fisheries

The DCAW secretariat handles day-to-day administrative tasks and is located at the DVFA. The secretariat staff are all employees of the DVFA.

The DCAW Project Group prepares project proposals for the steering group to decide on. The DCAW Project Group members work closely together to collate and communicate knowledge about animal welfare. The group consists of the secretariat staff of DCAW, research group leaders from the two universities and a representative from the Ministry.

The DCAW reference group consists of representatives from the primary stakeholder groups, such as farming industry organisations, animals’ rights groups, the Danish National Police and the Danish Veterinary Association. The purpose of the reference group is to have feedback and dialogue about the work of DCAW.

Last Modified 7. December 2015